Reviews

4.7
Rated 4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5 stars (based on 15 reviews)
Excellent73%
Very good27%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

real life when model "A"s were everything

Rated 5 out of 5
November 13, 2021

I have read and enjoyed many of Harlands books and found them both interesting and educational The lifes stories are true and factual .Many of the tales unfolded in his writing i was part of or close by. Enjoyable reading about history in the northwest and of the authors adventures.

Dennis Beckwith

Wild West Saloons (Of Adams County) 1885 - 1915

Rated 4 out of 5
November 13, 2021

I found the book to be a very interesting piece of history of the region and of the various saloons and drinking establishments of the time. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the book is probably more of interest to the people local to where the stories depict. Still, though, a slice of history that could have been anywhere in the west.

Joe Fox

Nothing But Up

Rated 5 out of 5
November 13, 2021

I know Harland Eastwood, the writer of this book as well as his father, of whom it was about, but there is very much to this story that I didn’t know. It is a well written piece of personal history that I found fascinating. I would recommend it to anyone interested in people who endured through hardship and made it seem easy and a life very worthwhile.

Joe Fox

Northwest Maritime Sampler

Rated 5 out of 5
November 13, 2021

Loved it! Great pictures of the many, many early boats and ships that plyed the Northwest from the early 1900’s and equally good descriptions of the history of the boats.

Joe Fox

Memories of an Elderly Kid

Rated 5 out of 5
November 13, 2021

Harland is a friend of mine and it was great to hear stories of his adolescent years and early adulthood, many of which I hadn’t heard before. Excellent, fun read.

Joe Fox

Great Story Teller

Rated 5 out of 5
November 5, 2021

Again you have hit the mark Harland. Your latest book
opened our eyes to details others can’t seem to bring out.
Ed & Sandy

Ed Riederich

Bringing History to Life

Rated 5 out of 5
November 3, 2021

I have six of Harland’s books, on many different subjects. In all of them I marvel at Harland’s ability, using both written text and many very relevant photographs, to make the reader feel like they are experiencing the history themselves. I have known Harland since the late 1950’s, having grown up living across the street from him in the south Seattle area. His new book “Memories of an Elderly Kid” captured not only the memories, but the emotion and feelings that we all felt during those days, as well as the environment of the Burien area. Though I knew something of his father having spent time visiting Harland, I had no idea what a truly remarkable man he was until I read his life story in Harland’s “Nothing But Up…”. Harland’s attention to detail and thoroughness are exemplified in that book’s chapter 23, the account of the crash of a four engine DC-4 military transport airplane in Nov. 1955. I was only eight years old, but vividly remember the site as my mom drove us by it the next day. I feel that Harland’s detailed account, researched and written over 50 years later, is one of the finest examples of historical documentation of an event that I have ever read. It covered not only all the known technical facts, but the eyewitness accounts and experiences of those who were on the ground, and the personal experience of Harland’s father working to save lives. This kind of quality writing is evident in all of Harland’s work.

Michael Sabourin

Greetings from Snoqualmie Pass & Nothing But UP

Rated 4 out of 5
November 3, 2021

I am an historian and author like Harland, helped start the Washington State Ski and Snowboard Museum on Snoqualmie Pass, and have published four books on skiing history, including Early Skiing on Snoqualmie Pass. I found the information that Harland presented in his book about his father, Nothing But Up, to be valuable in putting together the history of skiing in Washington and on Snoqualmie Pass. His collection of old postcards in Greetings from Snoqualmie Pass that show the Pass in its early days are marvelous, and a wonderful display of its history. Keep up your great work, Harland.

John W. Lundin, www.johnwlundin.com

I have 3 of Harland's books.

Rated 4 out of 5
November 2, 2021

My favorite is “Glacier High School Taku Memories”, as it commemorates Our Senior Year at Glacier. Also own “Greetings From Snoqualmie Pass”, which is a collection of post cards with Snoqualmie Pass as the main subject. Also have “Lost”, which tells of Harland’s trials and tribulations experienced as he grew up. All are well done.

Chuck Sting

Sixteen Missions Over Germany

Rated 4 out of 5
November 2, 2021

This book is a biography of Ralph Danekas, who flew B-17’s over Europe during World War II. I especially enjoyed the sections about his sixteen missions and first person accounts of the action. I found the book while researching a heritage album about my family. My father served in England as an ordnance officer in the Army Air Corps. Sixteen Missions provided invaluable personal insight into what our servicemen endured during that conflict. We owe so much to that generation of Americans who sacrificed so much that we and our children may continue to live in the liberties of our great country.

Tom Sickmann

Ritzville Auto History

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2, 2021

This volume is very well researched and documented. My father grew up in Ritzville in the 1920-30’s and this chronicle of the automobile industry not only in the Eastern Washington area but in the United States in general provides personal insight to life in that era. It contains an abundance of photographs and images. It is a treasure to share with my children and grandchildren.

Tom Sickmann

book review

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2, 2021

great material, but several spelling and grammatical errors.

David Bilby Sr

Northwest Marine Sampler

Rated 5 out of 5
November 1, 2021

Great pictures and fascinating stories to go with it. Great research…thanks..from an avid boater

Gord Radom

"Nothing But Up," the extraordinary story of an extraordinary man.

Rated 5 out of 5
November 1, 2021

Harland Eastwood, did more with one arm than most people did with a full complement: playing quarterback, hurdling, skiing, mountain rescue, serving as a lookout on the most challenging Forest Service cabin, Mount Three Fingers, and much more. Harland’s son Harland, Jr. gives a great portrait of this unique individual, along with a loving remembrance of his mother, Catherine. The pictures are worth the price of the book alone. I love this book.

Malcolm S. Bates

Harland does great research and writing

Rated 5 out of 5
November 1, 2021

I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read by him.

Jason Backus